Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo

Forums

Active Topics  :  Memberlist  :  Search  :  Help  :  Register  :  Login
Help Dundjinni! Rate This Website at RPG Gateway

Bugs
 Dundjinni Mapping Software - Forums : Bugs
Subject Topic: invalid byte Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Amarkys
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 11/05/2006
Location: France
Posts: 280
Posted: 07/01/2008 at 5:37am | IP Logged Quote Amarkys

hello, I am sad and worried.

As a result of a bug, I change my HD but now for my card I have this message: Invalid byte 1 of 1-byte UTF-8 sequence.

What does this sentence? a cure?

Please, help me !! I'll lose more than twenty cards! Help me !

__________________
Gladiators !
World of Dungeon
Back to Top View Amarkys's Profile Search for other posts by Amarkys Visit Amarkys's Homepage
 
Kepli
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16865
Posted: 07/01/2008 at 6:27am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

Ouch, that doesn't look good. I hope a tech guy here can help you out Amarkys

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
heruca
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)
Avatar

Joined: 09/28/2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6328
Posted: 07/01/2008 at 7:58am | IP Logged Quote heruca

I'm having trouble understanding what the problem is. What "cards" is Amarkis talking about? Is this a DJ problem, or a hard drive problem? Perhaps he should post his problem in French and someone could translate it for us.

__________________
Tired of the time & expense involved in printing out all your DJ maps? Skip the printing step, and play right on your maps!
Back to Top View heruca's Profile Search for other posts by heruca Visit heruca's Homepage
 
Amarkys
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 11/05/2006
Location: France
Posts: 280
Posted: 07/01/2008 at 9:03am | IP Logged Quote Amarkys

Bonjour, je suis triste et inquiet.

     
In french in the text:

" À la suite d'un bug, j'ai du changer mon HD, mais maintenant lorsque je veux ouvrir mes cartes, j'ai ce message: Invalid byte 1 de 1 octet UTF-8 sequence.

Que signifie cette phrase? un remède?

S’il vous plaît, aidez-moi! Je vais perdre plus de vingt cartes! Aidez-moi! "

__________________
Gladiators !
World of Dungeon
Back to Top View Amarkys's Profile Search for other posts by Amarkys Visit Amarkys's Homepage
 
heruca
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)
Avatar

Joined: 09/28/2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6328
Posted: 07/01/2008 at 9:23am | IP Logged Quote heruca

So cards = maps?

__________________
Tired of the time & expense involved in printing out all your DJ maps? Skip the printing step, and play right on your maps!
Back to Top View heruca's Profile Search for other posts by heruca Visit heruca's Homepage
 
Amarkys
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 11/05/2006
Location: France
Posts: 280
Posted: 07/01/2008 at 9:40am | IP Logged Quote Amarkys

yes

__________________
Gladiators !
World of Dungeon
Back to Top View Amarkys's Profile Search for other posts by Amarkys Visit Amarkys's Homepage
 
dDemonicAngels
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)


Joined: 06/11/2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 2045
Posted: 07/02/2008 at 4:10pm | IP Logged Quote dDemonicAngels

This is from Wikipedia:

UTF-8 (8-bit UCS/Unicode Transformation Format) is a variable-length character encoding for Unicode. It is able to represent any character in the Unicode standard, yet the initial encoding of byte codes and character assignments for UTF-8 is backwards compatible with ASCII. For these reasons, it is steadily becoming the preferred encoding for e-mail, web pages[1], and other places where characters are stored or streamed.

I suspect it might have to do with some text you've got, maybe on the maps? Can anyone help with this?

En français

Ce paragraphe vient de Wikipedia :

UTF-8 (UCS transformation format 8 bits) est un format de codage de caractères défini pour les caractères Unicode (UCS). Chaque caractère est codé sur une suite d'un à quatre octets. UTF-8 a été conçu pour être compatible avec certains logiciels originellement prévus pour traiter des caractères d'un seul octet.

De ce que je vois, il parle de la façon qu'il traite les textes, peut-être dans tes maps ?

Quand tu as changé ton disque rigide, as-tu changé ton OS? Peut-être tu as installé un nouveau logiciel ? Peut-être il manque un logiciel ?

Peux-tu nous dire ce qui s'est passé avec Dunjinni ? L'as-tu re-installé.

dDA

Edited by dDemonicAngels on 07/02/2008 at 4:11pm
Back to Top View dDemonicAngels's Profile Search for other posts by dDemonicAngels
 
bwatford
Hero
Hero


Joined: 01/10/2008
Posts: 116
Posted: 07/02/2008 at 5:07pm | IP Logged Quote bwatford

The above error is caused when Dundjinni parses the xml in the .dja file and comes across a character that it does not recongnize. Basically a parsing error.

If you changed the HD, did you completely reinstall Dundjinni? Sounds like that maybe where the issue lies since it worked before the HD echange correct?

Try completely uninstalling and then reinstalling Dundjinni.

If the .dja was hand-edited, and if you're located in North America or Western Europe, then there's a very good chance that the encoding is iso8859-1, so change the XML declaration in the .dja file to say so.

Alternatively, look for non-ASCII characters, and replace them by numeric character references.

Hope this helps.





Edited by bwatford on 07/02/2008 at 5:20pm
Back to Top View bwatford's Profile Search for other posts by bwatford
 
Amarkys
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 11/05/2006
Location: France
Posts: 280
Posted: 07/08/2008 at 12:12pm | IP Logged Quote Amarkys

thank you for your help at all, I completely reinstalled Dundjinni, but nothing changes, the problem may come from lack of a typeface (font = dead)?

__________________
Gladiators !
World of Dungeon
Back to Top View Amarkys's Profile Search for other posts by Amarkys Visit Amarkys's Homepage
 
Amarkys
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 11/05/2006
Location: France
Posts: 280
Posted: 11/08/2008 at 3:00am | IP Logged Quote Amarkys

help me! I can not find a solution to my problem ...

I may lose and having to redo all my cards

__________________
Gladiators !
World of Dungeon
Back to Top View Amarkys's Profile Search for other posts by Amarkys Visit Amarkys's Homepage
 

Page of 2 Next >>
  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.6
Copyright ©2001-2003 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.8750 seconds.
Contact - About Us - Privacy Statement - Legal Notices - EULA
Copyright © 2003-2007 Dundjinni Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.