Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo

Forums

Active Topics  :  Memberlist  :  Search  :  Help  :  Register  :  Login
Help Dundjinni! Rate This Website at RPG Gateway

Report an Error or Bug
 Dundjinni Mapping Software - Forums : Report an Error or Bug
Subject Topic: invalid byte Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Amarkys
Hero
Hero
Avatar

Joined: 11/05/2006
Location: France
Posts: 287
Posted: 07/01/2008 at 5:37am | IP Logged Quote Amarkys

hello, I am sad and worried.

As a result of a bug, I change my HD but now for my card I have this message: Invalid byte 1 of 1-byte UTF-8 sequence.

What does this sentence? a cure?

Please, help me !! I'll lose more than twenty cards! Help me !
Back to Top View Amarkys's Profile Search for other posts by Amarkys Visit Amarkys's Homepage
 
Kepli
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16729
Posted: 07/01/2008 at 6:27am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

Ouch, that doesn't look good. I hope a tech guy here can help you out Amarkys

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
heruca
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)
Avatar

Joined: 09/28/2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6305
Posted: 07/01/2008 at 7:58am | IP Logged Quote heruca

I'm having trouble understanding what the problem is. What "cards" is Amarkis talking about? Is this a DJ problem, or a hard drive problem? Perhaps he should post his problem in French and someone could translate it for us.

__________________
Tired of the time & expense involved in printing out all your DJ maps? Skip the printing step, and play right on your maps!
Back to Top View heruca's Profile Search for other posts by heruca Visit heruca's Homepage
 
Amarkys
Hero
Hero
Avatar

Joined: 11/05/2006
Location: France
Posts: 287
Posted: 07/01/2008 at 9:03am | IP Logged Quote Amarkys

Bonjour, je suis triste et inquiet.

     
In french in the text:

" À la suite d'un bug, j'ai du changer mon HD, mais maintenant lorsque je veux ouvrir mes cartes, j'ai ce message: Invalid byte 1 de 1 octet UTF-8 sequence.

Que signifie cette phrase? un remède?

S’il vous plaît, aidez-moi! Je vais perdre plus de vingt cartes! Aidez-moi! "
Back to Top View Amarkys's Profile Search for other posts by Amarkys Visit Amarkys's Homepage
 
heruca
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)
Avatar

Joined: 09/28/2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6305
Posted: 07/01/2008 at 9:23am | IP Logged Quote heruca

So cards = maps?

__________________
Tired of the time & expense involved in printing out all your DJ maps? Skip the printing step, and play right on your maps!
Back to Top View heruca's Profile Search for other posts by heruca Visit heruca's Homepage
 
Amarkys
Hero
Hero
Avatar

Joined: 11/05/2006
Location: France
Posts: 287
Posted: 07/01/2008 at 9:40am | IP Logged Quote Amarkys

yes
Back to Top View Amarkys's Profile Search for other posts by Amarkys Visit Amarkys's Homepage
 
dDemonicAngels
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)


Joined: 06/11/2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 2042
Posted: 07/02/2008 at 4:10pm | IP Logged Quote dDemonicAngels

This is from Wikipedia:

UTF-8 (8-bit UCS/Unicode Transformation Format) is a variable-length character encoding for Unicode. It is able to represent any character in the Unicode standard, yet the initial encoding of byte codes and character assignments for UTF-8 is backwards compatible with ASCII. For these reasons, it is steadily becoming the preferred encoding for e-mail, web pages[1], and other places where characters are stored or streamed.

I suspect it might have to do with some text you've got, maybe on the maps? Can anyone help with this?

En français

Ce paragraphe vient de Wikipedia :

UTF-8 (UCS transformation format 8 bits) est un format de codage de caractères défini pour les caractères Unicode (UCS). Chaque caractère est codé sur une suite d'un à quatre octets. UTF-8 a été conçu pour être compatible avec certains logiciels originellement prévus pour traiter des caractères d'un seul octet.

De ce que je vois, il parle de la façon qu'il traite les textes, peut-être dans tes maps ?

Quand tu as changé ton disque rigide, as-tu changé ton OS? Peut-être tu as installé un nouveau logiciel ? Peut-être il manque un logiciel ?

Peux-tu nous dire ce qui s'est passé avec Dunjinni ? L'as-tu re-installé.

dDA

Edited by dDemonicAngels on 07/02/2008 at 4:11pm
Back to Top View dDemonicAngels's Profile Search for other posts by dDemonicAngels
 
bwatford
Hero
Hero


Joined: 01/10/2008
Posts: 116
Posted: 07/02/2008 at 5:07pm | IP Logged Quote bwatford

The above error is caused when Dundjinni parses the xml in the .dja file and comes across a character that it does not recongnize. Basically a parsing error.

If you changed the HD, did you completely reinstall Dundjinni? Sounds like that maybe where the issue lies since it worked before the HD echange correct?

Try completely uninstalling and then reinstalling Dundjinni.

If the .dja was hand-edited, and if you're located in North America or Western Europe, then there's a very good chance that the encoding is iso8859-1, so change the XML declaration in the .dja file to say so.

Alternatively, look for non-ASCII characters, and replace them by numeric character references.

Hope this helps.





Edited by bwatford on 07/02/2008 at 5:20pm
Back to Top View bwatford's Profile Search for other posts by bwatford
 
Amarkys
Hero
Hero
Avatar

Joined: 11/05/2006
Location: France
Posts: 287
Posted: 07/08/2008 at 12:12pm | IP Logged Quote Amarkys

thank you for your help at all, I completely reinstalled Dundjinni, but nothing changes, the problem may come from lack of a typeface (font = dead)?
Back to Top View Amarkys's Profile Search for other posts by Amarkys Visit Amarkys's Homepage
 
Amarkys
Hero
Hero
Avatar

Joined: 11/05/2006
Location: France
Posts: 287
Posted: 11/08/2008 at 3:00am | IP Logged Quote Amarkys

help me! I can not find a solution to my problem ...

I may lose and having to redo all my cards
Back to Top View Amarkys's Profile Search for other posts by Amarkys Visit Amarkys's Homepage
 
slashdevnull
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2586
Posted: 11/08/2008 at 4:57am | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

If you think that the problem is a missing font, have you tried reinstalling that font?

Does the problem exist when creating new maps, or only with your old maps?

What did you do, exactly, to your computer? Replacing the hard drive may mean that you had to do a full reinstall of Windows. If so, was the new Windows installation of the exact same version as before? Is the hard drive formatted with a different format (FAT32 vs. NTFS, etc.)?

If you replaced the hard drive, how did you transfer your backups to the new drive? Direct drive-to-drive within the same computer, from backup media such as tapes or CD/DVD, or over a network from a fileserver?

__________________
Please redirect all flames to /dev/null. Er, waittaminute, no! That's me!
http://www.runlevel7.org/
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
Amarkys
Hero
Hero
Avatar

Joined: 11/05/2006
Location: France
Posts: 287
Posted: 11/08/2008 at 5:21am | IP Logged Quote Amarkys

I am not too sure of myself for police, but yes I reinstall police dead.

No, on my old card.

I change the hard disk (the former is hs) it is NTFS format as the other Windows is now at the same level as before ...

the transfer is done according to a DVD-ROM (which unfortunately seems to be defective), which operate from a friend to whom I send files ...

I am afraid of having to redo everything, is not it?

le texte en français :
"je ne suis plus trop sure de moi pour la police, mais oui j'ai réinstaller la police dead.

non, sur mes anciennes cartes.

j'ai changer de disque dur (l'ancien est HS)il est au format ntfs comme l'autre, Windows est maintenant au même niveau qu'avant...

le transfert c'est fait d'après un dvd-rom (qui malheureusement semble être défectueux), celle qui fonctionnent proviennent d'un ami à qui j'ai envoyer les fichiers...

j'ai bien peur de devoir tout refaire, n'est-ce pas ?"
Back to Top View Amarkys's Profile Search for other posts by Amarkys Visit Amarkys's Homepage
 
slashdevnull
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2586
Posted: 11/08/2008 at 6:24am | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

I think you may have to re-make your maps. I'm not really sure how to help with this. If I'm understanding the problem that caused you to install a new hard drive in the first place, it's possible that you had data corruption to your map files before you even backed them up, or during the backup process. Or, I may just not understand the problem properly due to poor translation of the problem description.

Sorry.

__________________
Please redirect all flames to /dev/null. Er, waittaminute, no! That's me!
http://www.runlevel7.org/
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
Amarkys
Hero
Hero
Avatar

Joined: 11/05/2006
Location: France
Posts: 287
Posted: 02/29/2012 at 4:05am | IP Logged Quote Amarkys

the same problem after reinstatement of 1.07 on my ancient new maps...

how to change encoding in the file .dja?

Back to Top View Amarkys's Profile Search for other posts by Amarkys Visit Amarkys's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.6
Copyright ©2001-2003 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.5781 seconds.
Contact - About Us - Privacy Statement - Legal Notices - EULA
Copyright © 2003-2007 Dundjinni Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.