Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo

Forums

Active Topics  :  Memberlist  :  Search  :  Help  :  Register  :  Login
Help Dundjinni! Rate This Website at RPG Gateway

Questions
 Dundjinni Mapping Software - Forums : Questions
Subject Topic: Installing Art Packs in Windows 7 Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
kitasi
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 04/18/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Posted: 05/14/2011 at 5:05pm | IP Logged Quote kitasi

Hopefully Kepli sees this since he is the master of installing help!

Trying to Reinstall my Art Packs on my new laptop, WIndows 7, I have the downloads for the 1.0.7 versions of the art pack installers.

Everything proceeds just fine until the installer seems to hang with the message "Writing Data" in large font at the top and "The installer is now recording add-on installation data." in smaller font below that. No textures show up in DJ although the Campaign folder does appear and the items are there.

Any ideas???
Back to Top View kitasi's Profile Search for other posts by kitasi
 
heruca
Hero
Hero
Avatar

Joined: 09/28/2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 618
Posted: 05/14/2011 at 5:10pm | IP Logged Quote heruca

Did you disable UAC (User Account Control)?

Did you install DJ to a directory other than "Programs" (or whatever it's called
in Win 7 exactly)?
Back to Top View heruca's Profile Search for other posts by heruca
 
kitasi
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 04/18/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Posted: 05/15/2011 at 1:30pm | IP Logged Quote kitasi

There doesn't seem to be any way to disable UAC in WIndows 7 like there was in Vista, I did however open up the Dundjinni folders to all users full control. Dundjinni is installed in Program Files (x86) which is where 32 bit programs go. Everything in the regular Dundjinni app works fine and so do the User Collection packs I installed. Only the Castle, Temp, Village, and Campaign packs that I purchased seem to have this issue. I supsect that whatever Dundjinni does to enable those packs is not working. The objects show up but they are just blank windows in the selector and in maps they are using the generic missing icon.
Back to Top View kitasi's Profile Search for other posts by kitasi
 
kitasi
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 04/18/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Posted: 05/15/2011 at 1:42pm | IP Logged Quote kitasi

Ok, should have guessed Windows would be vague about this. Even though it states in at least 2 of the screens that you have to have User COntrol on to access Windows, and nowhere does it tell you that setting it to the lowest setting actually turns it off (until it tells you you have to reboot after you accept the setting!) Turning it to the lowest setting not only turns it off but also fixes the problem.

No thanks Bill Gates, Thanks Janni!
Back to Top View kitasi's Profile Search for other posts by kitasi
 
Bogie
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 06/19/2007
Location: United States
Posts: 5184
Posted: 05/15/2011 at 6:57pm | IP Logged Quote Bogie

kitasi wrote:
No thanks Bill Gates, Thanks Janni!

His name is Heruca, Janni just designates his forum status, I'm sure he understands though.

Glad it worked out for you kitasi.   

__________________
Check out my DeviantArt Gallery http://bogie-dj.deviantart.com/gallery/
Back to Top View Bogie's Profile Search for other posts by Bogie
 
heruca
Hero
Hero
Avatar

Joined: 09/28/2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 618
Posted: 05/15/2011 at 7:17pm | IP Logged Quote heruca

Glad to hear that worked, kitasi.
Back to Top View heruca's Profile Search for other posts by heruca
 
Kepli
Mythic
Mythic
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16312
Posted: 05/17/2011 at 1:36am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

Glad you got it working kitasi

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
cyderak
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 03/18/2010
Location: United States
Posts: 108
Posted: 10/29/2011 at 8:42pm | IP Logged Quote cyderak

Heruca......your a FREAKIN GENIOUS.

Found my old info and tried to re-install Dundjinni but it failed on 1.07. Until I used Heruca's "Disable UAC" advice. Worked like a charm and making maps like theres no tomorrow.

Thanks dude.

__________________
PATHFINDER is the only RPG!
Back to Top View cyderak's Profile Search for other posts by cyderak Visit cyderak's Homepage
 
Bogie
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 06/19/2007
Location: United States
Posts: 5184
Posted: 10/29/2011 at 9:05pm | IP Logged Quote Bogie

Glad you got it working. Post your maps when you get a chance.

__________________
Check out my DeviantArt Gallery http://bogie-dj.deviantart.com/gallery/
Back to Top View Bogie's Profile Search for other posts by Bogie
 
heruca
Hero
Hero
Avatar

Joined: 09/28/2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 618
Posted: 10/29/2011 at 9:32pm | IP Logged Quote heruca

Heh! Glad I could help, but I'm no genius. More like a parrot who repeats
things that he's heard might fix things. I've never even had to deal with UAC
myself.
Back to Top View heruca's Profile Search for other posts by heruca
 
cyderak
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 03/18/2010
Location: United States
Posts: 108
Posted: 10/30/2011 at 4:25pm | IP Logged Quote cyderak

Bogie wrote:
Glad you got it working. Post your maps when you get a chance.


Will do.

__________________
PATHFINDER is the only RPG!
Back to Top View cyderak's Profile Search for other posts by cyderak Visit cyderak's Homepage
 
Yenooc
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 11/20/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Posted: 01/13/2012 at 5:39pm | IP Logged Quote Yenooc

Heruca--Yenooc here, the computer illiterate who constantly bugs you for help with BRPG. :]

Could you translate the solution you gave (for getting the artwork to work) into a "For Dummies" version? I have all my Dundjinni art pack files on my old pc (Windows XP), but I can't get them to work on my new pc (Windows 7). The files are listed, but when I open Dundjinni, the name is all that shows up in the selection box--the image is blank.

From an old dog who can't seem to fully learn the new tricks.

__________________
Sed quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
Back to Top View Yenooc's Profile Search for other posts by Yenooc
 
Bogie
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 06/19/2007
Location: United States
Posts: 5184
Posted: 01/13/2012 at 9:16pm | IP Logged Quote Bogie

When you install the new version of DundJinni on the new computer there are several important points:

You need version 1.0.7, if you don't have it contact Kepli.

Before you install it you have to turn off UAC ( Windows User Accounts Control )

Install DJ on the root directory not in Program Files Sudirectory.

You have to reinstall the art packs and they have to be the newest versions made for 1.0.7 ( contact Kepli )



__________________
Check out my DeviantArt Gallery http://bogie-dj.deviantart.com/gallery/
Back to Top View Bogie's Profile Search for other posts by Bogie
 
Yenooc
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 11/20/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Posted: 01/13/2012 at 10:28pm | IP Logged Quote Yenooc

Thank you for the response--here's what I've got:

I previously contacted Kepli, and he sent me the latest link to download v1.0.7, although the version on my old pc (from a couple years ago) lists it as the same version. ???

I can reinstall it to turn off UAC, but I have no idea how to do that. If you can, please supply a "For Dummies" version of what this means. Is it something that is prompted during download, or must I look elsewhere for it?

I installed the program in the Program files directory, since that is where it put itself--or where Windows put it--but I can reinstall it directly under C . . . I'm pretty sure that I can figure that one out on my own.

I have the art packs from a couple years ago, so if I do everything else and they still don't work, I guess I'll have to contact Keplie about acquiring those, too.

So, before I try to reinstall it again, the only question I have is about the UAC. Thanks again for your help.


__________________
Sed quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
Back to Top View Yenooc's Profile Search for other posts by Yenooc
 
Bogie
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 06/19/2007
Location: United States
Posts: 5184
Posted: 01/13/2012 at 11:30pm | IP Logged Quote Bogie

My tech level is pretty low so I can't give great directions, but, UAC is part of windows.
Got to Control Panel, click on "User Accounts" then click on "Turn User Account Control on and off"

__________________
Check out my DeviantArt Gallery http://bogie-dj.deviantart.com/gallery/
Back to Top View Bogie's Profile Search for other posts by Bogie
 
Eric of Ptolus
Legend
Legend


Joined: 06/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 491
Posted: 01/14/2012 at 6:16am | IP Logged Quote Eric of Ptolus

You might need to reboot your computer after changing the UAC setting.

I'm not 100% sure, though, but be forewarned ...
Back to Top View Eric of Ptolus's Profile Search for other posts by Eric of Ptolus Visit Eric of Ptolus's Homepage
 
Yenooc
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 11/20/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Posted: 01/14/2012 at 8:56am | IP Logged Quote Yenooc

Bogie and Eric of Ptolus--Thank you.

I've downloaded the program again, placing it it a folder under my C drive, so it's C:\Dundjinni\Dundjinni, with the last folder the one containing the .exe file and the folders such as Map, etc.

Bogie, your tech level was above mine, so that should tell you something.   

Eric, I rebooted.

Under Map are ~common and Fantasy, and under Fantasy are Dungeon, Tokens, User, and Wild. I don't show a Campaign or other folders I had on my old pc.

Now, before I screw this up again, here are some more questions:

* Is there something still not correct because I'm not showing the Campaign folder, and others that should be there?

* If I copy a floor file (for example), do I simply paste it into the Floor folder (under Map\Dungeon, for example)? The Floor folder already has a ~properties file, so would pasting a floor .png or .djx file directly into that folder make it show up when I open the program?

* If I download an artpack .zip file from the free items offered on this website (and thank you very much to those who have posted those!), how do I get the unzipped files to the right place in the program?

See, Bogie, I'll bet you didn't know that there was someone who had more questions than you.   

Thanks, guys.

__________________
Sed quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
Back to Top View Yenooc's Profile Search for other posts by Yenooc
 
Yenooc
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 11/20/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Posted: 01/14/2012 at 9:44am | IP Logged Quote Yenooc

Okay, I don't know how I did it, but I believe that I've loaded the files into their correct spots . . . and all seems to be working fine now.

Of course, the genius who invented the JAR files made it so that even a dummy like me could just push a button and voila! Also, those who included the Read Me files with specific instructions.

Thank you all for your help.

__________________
Sed quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
Back to Top View Yenooc's Profile Search for other posts by Yenooc
 
Bogie
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 06/19/2007
Location: United States
Posts: 5184
Posted: 01/14/2012 at 2:05pm | IP Logged Quote Bogie

Just remember to keep the .djx files and .png files separate. The djx files have to be installed ( thus the jar system ) and the png files can just be copied into the correct directories.

__________________
Check out my DeviantArt Gallery http://bogie-dj.deviantart.com/gallery/
Back to Top View Bogie's Profile Search for other posts by Bogie
 
Eric of Ptolus
Legend
Legend


Joined: 06/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 491
Posted: 01/14/2012 at 5:08pm | IP Logged Quote Eric of Ptolus

Exactly. Bogie beat me to it. Keep the installed files (.djx) files separate from your downloaded/hand-crafted ones. For sanity's sake (I think you can mix them but I'd advise against it!)

You would need to create the Campaign folder and drop in all the files in off your old lap-top. I'm assuming it used to be a hodge-podge of downloaded files off this site, etc. Take the opportunity to re-organize them - my understanding is, more folders with fewer files per folder is better than fewer folders with many many files each (in terms of load-time). And place the ones you are always hunting-and-pecking for (for me it's the DOOR SWING arrows) in a easy-to-get-to "hot folder". Go to Hale's site and grab the CSUAC downloads and sift them in too (the ones you like/want/need).

Hale's excellent site

And, yeah, you can create a folder and name it anything you want, it is the properties file that determines how DJ will "treat" its contents. Floors, Walls, Cover respect the -a -b -c ... naming conventions, and what type of object it is affects its position along the "Z" axis ... floors covered by objects covered by walls covered by covers or whatever.

If you reorganize - old maps will be littered with question marks 'cause it cannot find images in their old locations. You'll need to find and restamp them, unless you feel comfortable hand-editing XML files (I advise against this - one bad keystroke and KA-BLAM!)

I usually unzip downloaded ZIPs to a "temp" area and move them by hand into the right folders for DJ to pick up. I have "Floor - stone", "Floor - tile", "Floor - grass", ... folders to keep them structured a bit and allow faster finds.

Hope this helps somewhat, these are things I learned a few months ago when I was in your exact position.
Back to Top View Eric of Ptolus's Profile Search for other posts by Eric of Ptolus Visit Eric of Ptolus's Homepage
 
Yenooc
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 11/20/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Posted: 01/14/2012 at 6:27pm | IP Logged Quote Yenooc

I'm glad you guys mentioned keeping the files separate. I didn't do that before I started crying for help, and that could explain some of the problems I was having.

One more question on Hale's .rar files: My computer is asking me which program to use to open them, so they are not automatically opening as the .jar files did. Any tips?

Gracias.

__________________
Sed quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
Back to Top View Yenooc's Profile Search for other posts by Yenooc
 
mercutio
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 04/03/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 738
Posted: 01/14/2012 at 6:35pm | IP Logged Quote mercutio

.rar is a compression algorithm used by a program called
WinRAR. It's like a zip file, but uses a different file
type.

WinRAR is a pay program, but there are free programs that
can open .rar files. My favorite (and the only one I use)
is 7zip, which can open .zip, .rar, and a host of other
files.

__________________
XCrawl - Three Rivers Crawl
Back to Top View mercutio's Profile Search for other posts by mercutio
 
Yenooc
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 11/20/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Posted: 01/15/2012 at 1:39pm | IP Logged Quote Yenooc

Thank you, Mercutio--I now have 7zip, and it works great.

__________________
Sed quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
Back to Top View Yenooc's Profile Search for other posts by Yenooc
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.6
Copyright ©2001-2003 Web Wiz Guide
Contact - About Us - Privacy Statement - Legal Notices - EULA
Copyright © 2003-2007 Dundjinni Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.