Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo

Forums

Active Topics  :  Memberlist  :  Search  :  Help  :  Register  :  Login
Help Dundjinni! Rate This Website at RPG Gateway

Tiles
 Dundjinni Mapping Software - Forums : Tiles
Subject Topic: 5x5 Spaceship Tiles Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
GroovyDave
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 12/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 696
Posted: 11/15/2011 at 6:57pm | IP Logged Quote GroovyDave

Tried that. Actually took them up to 1002 but I still get the line. Since my
tiles are objects and not on the floor layer, I've changed the grid to a neutral
grey that blends pretty well with the floor, walls and bulkhead fill. Doesn't
look too bad. I'm almost done with a Klingon Runabout and will post soon.

__________________
"Dead is Dead. Parts is Parts. Dead guys is parts." - Auric O'Morte, Necromancer
Back to Top View GroovyDave's Profile Search for other posts by GroovyDave Visit GroovyDave's Homepage
 
dragonwolf
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 02/22/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1501
Posted: 11/15/2011 at 10:10pm | IP Logged Quote dragonwolf

I've found that if you put the tiles down when zoomed in to detail mode of at least 1, then you don't get the line. It's a little harder to make the map when you have to scroll to make the map, but it's what I've found to work.

__________________
dragonwolf
Posted outside my cube:

     Free Advice: If you come into my cube and you have a Mountain Dew and I do not, that will be your unDewing.

Back to Top View dragonwolf's Profile Search for other posts by dragonwolf Visit dragonwolf's Homepage
 
aegean
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 03/05/2005
Location: Turkey
Posts: 2246
Posted: 11/16/2011 at 3:21am | IP Logged Quote aegean

Hi

I have this issue - but I even have it in Photoshop (CS3), its something with playing with 1 pixel that's seems to be the issue me thinks. the dark / base colour background works well for me too.

ae

__________________
Creative Gremlins                                             Creative Gremlins Marketplace
Back to Top View aegean's Profile Search for other posts by aegean
 
Kepli
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16854
Posted: 11/16/2011 at 5:26am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

dragonwolf wrote:
I've found that if you put the tiles down when zoomed in to detail mode of at least 1, then you don't get the line. It's a little harder to make the map when you have to scroll to make the map, but it's what I've found to work.

That's how I always work when I use Snap-to-grid. Any lesser zoom can leave white spots/lines.

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
GroovyDave
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 12/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 696
Posted: 11/16/2011 at 5:36am | IP Logged Quote GroovyDave

Hmmm. I'll try that. I definately was stamping at nearly full page zoom.

__________________
"Dead is Dead. Parts is Parts. Dead guys is parts." - Auric O'Morte, Necromancer
Back to Top View GroovyDave's Profile Search for other posts by GroovyDave Visit GroovyDave's Homepage
 
ProBono
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 12/29/2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1111
Posted: 11/16/2011 at 5:03pm | IP Logged Quote ProBono

Just some thoughts:
- when doing the maps made up of the 5x5 or 6x6 tiles, if you bucket -fill behind the tiles with the background
texture, it will fill in any cracks.
- tiny white borders in a graphics program don't show, so perhaps look at them in Windows Picture Viewer
(slideshow view) which puts a black background. Any accidental pixels at the edges become obvious. Use
of the arrow keys when cropping ensures pixel accuracy.
- if stamping the 200x200 tiles in DJ normally, and using the 5' erasor to tidy the edges, sometimes it
seems to slip an extra pixel. So near completion of the 5x5's or 6x6's for example you can check the edge by
stamping the floor down again and if neccessary the square adjacent to it (then rubbing the later out
again).
Back to Top View ProBono's Profile Search for other posts by ProBono
 
GroovyDave
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 12/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 696
Posted: 11/17/2011 at 7:22am | IP Logged Quote GroovyDave

Notes:
1. No fixtures or furnishings. Let the mods begin.
2. Size is 1002 px in an attempt to avoid white lines.
3. Walls are static and no doors included.
4. Blank, unwalled tile included for your modding pleasure.
5. Walls were done in Photoshop using Eye Candy 6 Bevel filter.
6. Floor stains are unidirectional, but tiles can be reversed either direction
or turned 180 degrees. Just keep an eye on the floor.
7. I discovered when I put them into use that I may have doubled my work
in spots. Some of these may be basically the same tile if you reverse it or
flip it. Oh well, the floor grates are probably in different locations so call
any dupes a "variation".
8. There are multipart room tiles. A creative mapper can make even larger
rooms by assembling these sections. They are obvious by not having a
wall on one or more sides.

48 tiles in total. I have been using them as a Floor layer, but let me know
if anyone else has a better technique.

A_GD.zip">Gritty Spaceship Set - Part one

B_GD.zip">Gritty Spaceship Set - Part two

C_GD.zip">Grittey Spaceship Set - Part three

D_GD.zip">Gritty Spaceship Set - Part four

Edited by GroovyDave on 11/17/2011 at 8:07am


__________________
"Dead is Dead. Parts is Parts. Dead guys is parts." - Auric O'Morte, Necromancer
Back to Top View GroovyDave's Profile Search for other posts by GroovyDave Visit GroovyDave's Homepage
 
ProBono
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 12/29/2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1111
Posted: 11/17/2011 at 9:06am | IP Logged Quote ProBono

GroovyDave wrote:
...Size is 1002 px in an attempt to avoid white lines....




Making the tile 1002 when there is a white edge means you just make the white edge bigger too, unless they overlapped with the right one on top. Note there may be a slight yellow tint to the right. These are only on a few.

ProBono wrote:
...tiny white borders in a graphics program don't show, so perhaps look at them in Windows Picture Viewer (slideshow view) which puts a black background. Any accidental pixels at the edges become obvious. Use of the arrow keys when cropping ensures pixel accuracy...


You appear to be using a MAC so I don't know what slideshow options it has. The way I cleared up the white line problems is to open the picture in Paint.Net (on a PC), ctrl+A to select all, choose the "Move Selection" on the toolbox and (if the line is on the left) press the right arrow once. Then crop. Check Picture Size, Resize to, in your case, 1000x1000. Voila, no line. Check by running the pics in the slideshow to ensure line gone.

May be other ways also - put a block of bright colour in a layer behind the pic, then make the picture layer semi-transparent, and white line may become obvious.

May be a pain in the bottom to check having done 48 tiles...

Note that if they were being printed as table-top tiles, you wouldn't care about one pixel, as you can't get that accurate with scissors anyway...

Contact Sheet...

Lots of room space for adding machinery,etc., or even internal walls to suit.

Edited by ProBono on 11/17/2011 at 10:31pm
Back to Top View ProBono's Profile Search for other posts by ProBono
 
GroovyDave
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 12/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 696
Posted: 11/17/2011 at 12:01pm | IP Logged Quote GroovyDave

Cool. I'll try that. Also, I found three tiles (including the one without walls
that didn't make it into my final folder. I'll have to add them in. I'll check
each of them over as you instruct and redo the zip files. In fact I may go to
fewer zips as I only broke them up that way hoping I could post them here.
But still too large so I found somewhere else.

__________________
"Dead is Dead. Parts is Parts. Dead guys is parts." - Auric O'Morte, Necromancer
Back to Top View GroovyDave's Profile Search for other posts by GroovyDave Visit GroovyDave's Homepage
 
GroovyDave
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 12/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 696
Posted: 11/17/2011 at 12:06pm | IP Logged Quote GroovyDave

BTW, what I was doing in Photoshop was creating the tile with the associated
layers and such, 16 up, using the guides I had set by creating a fixed size
selection marquee and then snaping to. Then when the tiles were complete, I
would merge all layers, open a fixed size selection marquee (1000 px) at the
same guide I made the tile from, then copy and create a New doc. Then
paste and save, basically. I never saw the white lines during the last step but
they must be an artifact from the copying process or somehow related to the
guides. Should be easy to fix, but will take some time.

__________________
"Dead is Dead. Parts is Parts. Dead guys is parts." - Auric O'Morte, Necromancer
Back to Top View GroovyDave's Profile Search for other posts by GroovyDave Visit GroovyDave's Homepage
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

<< Prev Page of 5
  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.6
Copyright ©2001-2003 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.4219 seconds.
Contact - About Us - Privacy Statement - Legal Notices - EULA
Copyright © 2003-2007 Dundjinni Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.