Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo

Forums

Active Topics  :  Memberlist  :  Search  :  Help  :  Register  :  Login
Help Dundjinni! Rate This Website at RPG Gateway

Tips
 Dundjinni Mapping Software - Forums : Tips
Subject Topic: Basic Tutorial for Castle building Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Astrophel73
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 05/03/2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 3
Posted: 05/04/2012 at 10:08am | IP Logged Quote Astrophel73

Dear all, I just arrived to Dundjinni and I am realizing I am entering as a newbie in a stylist lab... I never saw so many beautiful and amazing jobs!! I need Your help... I wanted to start building a castle with walls and towers and additional contents (stables and so on) but I do not know how to start with... Is there some of You genious guys that can help with a tutorial and also tell me where to find additional walls contents? I found many maps here or on internet (i also enjoy RPGs for more than 20 years and starting with D&D, WFRP, Rolemaster, Vampire and so on I found many spectacular jobs..)... Any useful hints or tips or help is needed... Thanks
Back to Top View Astrophel73's Profile Search for other posts by Astrophel73
 
Bogie
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 06/19/2007
Location: United States
Posts: 5118
Posted: 05/04/2012 at 3:43pm | IP Logged Quote Bogie

Welcome to DundJinni Astrophel73

There are a lot of different ways to make castle walls but here are some things that might help:

TheSim made a fantastic set of modular castle walls that you can get from this Thread: CITY WALLS _ CLICK HERE

IronDwarf made a great set of modular sewers:
   SEWER SET

And Bludragon made some nice walls and other stuff:
     BLUDRAGON - WALLS

The best way to find specific things is to use the Search Feature. At the top of every page under the word Dundjinni you will see the word "Search". Click on it and learn to use it. It will be your friend!

Are you using DundJinni or some other graphic program?
Knowing what you use will help us help you.

__________________
Check out my DeviantArt Gallery http://bogie-dj.deviantart.com/gallery/
Back to Top View Bogie's Profile Search for other posts by Bogie
 
Bogie
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 06/19/2007
Location: United States
Posts: 5118
Posted: 05/04/2012 at 3:57pm | IP Logged Quote Bogie

4 years ago I made a version of Bodiam Castle at the request of one of the members. Then I made a brief tutorial on how to make your own, and later I redid the whole thing to see if I could do better.

BODIAM CASTLE REQUEST

BODIAM CASTLE TUTORIAL FOR DUNDJINNI

BODIAM CASTLE REMODELED

__________________
Check out my DeviantArt Gallery http://bogie-dj.deviantart.com/gallery/
Back to Top View Bogie's Profile Search for other posts by Bogie
 
Serendipitous
Hero
Hero
Avatar

Joined: 04/03/2008
Location: United States
Posts: 133
Posted: 05/08/2012 at 8:37am | IP Logged Quote Serendipitous

Here Here! Welcome to forums, Astrophel73! I'm sure you're going to fit right in here - it's a really awesome group.

In relationship to your reply, Bogie, I'm curious to learn about the differences between mapping in Dundjinni vs mapping in Paint.net or Photoshop. I go back and forth between the two, but my most recent map was made with Photoshop so I could use drop shadows and blending modes and stuff.
Back to Top View Serendipitous's Profile Search for other posts by Serendipitous
 
Bogie
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 06/19/2007
Location: United States
Posts: 5118
Posted: 05/08/2012 at 8:52am | IP Logged Quote Bogie

Normally I make my maps in DJ then just use Photoshop to edit the map. I use Photoshop a lot to make and edit the objects covers and texture tiles before I use them in DJ.

__________________
Check out my DeviantArt Gallery http://bogie-dj.deviantart.com/gallery/
Back to Top View Bogie's Profile Search for other posts by Bogie
 
Serendipitous
Hero
Hero
Avatar

Joined: 04/03/2008
Location: United States
Posts: 133
Posted: 05/08/2012 at 9:08am | IP Logged Quote Serendipitous

ok, cool. I'm mainly using my maps on Maptool, so I need to bring them into mt as a resource. What scale should I use on maptool's grid, in reference to the grid size. I think i'm defaulting to 100 pixels.
Back to Top View Serendipitous's Profile Search for other posts by Serendipitous
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.6
Copyright ©2001-2003 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.5781 seconds.
Contact - About Us - Privacy Statement - Legal Notices - EULA
Copyright © 2003-2007 Dundjinni Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.