Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo

Forums

Active Topics  :  Memberlist  :  Search  :  Help  :  Register  :  Login
Help Dundjinni! Rate This Website at RPG Gateway

Bugs
 Dundjinni Mapping Software - Forums : Bugs
Subject Topic: "Improper Installation" issue Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
kamawell
Henchman
Henchman


Joined: 07/29/2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 13
Posted: 08/09/2005 at 11:31am | IP Logged Quote kamawell

Webmaster J.T. wrote:
The installation puts some things in the registry that are needed when the program starts, so simply copying the files from another computer would not help. Steve brings up a good point, which is make sure you install as administrator.


Sorry - I meant install the program on my PC and paste my friend's Fluid folder over mine. That way the registry (on my PC) would have the entries it needed but the folder structure would be tried and tested.

Quote:
I am begining to run out of ideas.


Me too. Is there any point in waiting to see if the next patch has any effect?

Thanks

Andy
Back to Top View kamawell's Profile Search for other posts by kamawell
 
slashdevnull
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2597
Posted: 08/09/2005 at 1:12pm | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

Have you fully removed all copies of Java and Dundjinni, virus and spyware scanned and patched, reinstalled Windows, then fresh-installed the latest Java followed by a reboot then a Dundjinni install?

I say that you just take off and nuke your computer from orbit. It's the only way to be sure. I'm not sure that the new patch is going to do anything to help.

__________________
Please redirect all flames to /dev/null. Er, waittaminute, no! That's me!
http://www.runlevel7.org/
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
kamawell
Henchman
Henchman


Joined: 07/29/2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 13
Posted: 08/09/2005 at 3:23pm | IP Logged Quote kamawell

Thanks Janni

Well, I'm going to stop short of a reinstallation of Windows. Whilst I'm keen to get DJ running I'm not going to wipe an otherwise perfectly happy PC just to get it going

I'll run through the list of instructions one more time...
Back to Top View kamawell's Profile Search for other posts by kamawell
 
slashdevnull
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2597
Posted: 08/10/2005 at 9:14am | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

You don't need to wipe Windows in order to reinstall it. Re-running the installer makes sure that any library (.dll) files and other necessities get overwritten with "proper" and "clean" versions from the installer CD, and that certain required entries in the Registry are correct. Of course, you will/should have to download and install any Microsoft Critical Updates that yo've applied (including the dreaded Service Packs).

__________________
Please redirect all flames to /dev/null. Er, waittaminute, no! That's me!
http://www.runlevel7.org/
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
Mr Salvador
Hireling
Hireling
Avatar

Joined: 08/22/2005
Posts: 2
Posted: 08/22/2005 at 11:02am | IP Logged Quote Mr Salvador

I also am getting the improper installation issue. For one thing, when I am installing it from the CD I got (GenCon). It does not finish the last install. I tried to let the last install run for almost two hours and it did not finish. It dosn't freeze up until you click cancel or somthing. It's happens on somthing like the d20cdr file or somthing.. How do you fix it?
Back to Top View Mr Salvador's Profile Search for other posts by Mr Salvador
 
slashdevnull
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2597
Posted: 08/22/2005 at 12:30pm | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

It would help if you let us know what your system specs are. Operating system, whether or not you're up to date on system patches, etc.

__________________
Please redirect all flames to /dev/null. Er, waittaminute, no! That's me!
http://www.runlevel7.org/
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
Mr Salvador
Hireling
Hireling
Avatar

Joined: 08/22/2005
Posts: 2
Posted: 08/22/2005 at 1:53pm | IP Logged Quote Mr Salvador

Well, my computer runs on Windows XP Security patch 2, 512 RAM 2.5 gig processor, Most reccently updated definitions of adaware and Nortan Anti-virus. Right now, though, I am redownloading the Sun Microsystem Java runtime.
Back to Top View Mr Salvador's Profile Search for other posts by Mr Salvador
 
slashdevnull
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2597
Posted: 08/22/2005 at 3:05pm | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

Like we say to everyone: Make sure that you have one and only one version of Java installed. Even if you seem to only have one version installed, you may want to remove it, reboot your PC, and then install the latest version.

__________________
Please redirect all flames to /dev/null. Er, waittaminute, no! That's me!
http://www.runlevel7.org/
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
havoclad
Wandering Monster
Wandering Monster


Joined: 12/29/2003
Posts: 1415
Posted: 09/05/2005 at 10:35pm | IP Logged Quote havoclad

Still having problems with the latest version 1.05

I have one version of java installed, reinstalled latest after completly wiping it from my system.
Reinstalled Dundjinni after completely wiping it from my system.
Did not install any art packs (including the ones I so foolishly purchased in advance).
I stopped all running programs.

I *still* get this error.

----
An error occured during startup.
You may have an improper installation, or invalid or missing map resources.
The program will be terminated.
----

Back to Top View havoclad's Profile Search for other posts by havoclad
 
Gregg
Wandering Monster
Wandering Monster


Joined: 12/29/2003
Posts: 1415
Posted: 09/21/2005 at 7:36pm | IP Logged Quote Gregg

OK
I uninstalled Dundjinni.
I made sure Java J2SE Runtime Environment 5.0 Update 4 is the only one I have installed.
I re-installed Dundjinni
It said it was successfully installed and still I get the Improper instalation error.

Any other suggestions?

Regards:
Gregg
Back to Top View Gregg's Profile Search for other posts by Gregg
 

<< Prev Page of 28 Next >>
  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.6
Copyright ©2001-2003 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.7031 seconds.
Contact - About Us - Privacy Statement - Legal Notices - EULA
Copyright © 2003-2007 Dundjinni Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.