Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo

Forums

Active Topics  :  Memberlist  :  Search  :  Help  :  Register  :  Login
Help Dundjinni! Rate This Website at RPG Gateway

Report an Error or Bug
 Dundjinni Mapping Software - Forums : Report an Error or Bug
Subject Topic: "Improper Installation" issue Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
dDemonicAngels
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)


Joined: 06/11/2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 2046
Posted: 04/14/2006 at 6:12am | IP Logged Quote dDemonicAngels

This bites. My sons friend tried to install a really old software on my machine and now I get the 'improper installation'.

So I guess I've got to start unistalling. Am I going to have to re-install the art packs too? Arrgghh!

Got to get rid of those old games. And more technically savvy friends for my son!
Back to Top View dDemonicAngels's Profile Search for other posts by dDemonicAngels
 
Kepli
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16739
Posted: 04/14/2006 at 6:26am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

Ok ... won't laugh, since it bites ...   
Hope you get it back the way it was dDA

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
steveporter
Hireling
Hireling


Joined: 04/29/2006
Posts: 3
Posted: 04/29/2006 at 8:08am | IP Logged Quote steveporter

Hi all,

Well I'm stumped. I just received a new smokin lap top and wanted to install my copy of Dundjinni on. This install has worked fine on my desktop, so I know that my user name and serial is good. The medium has to be good as well.

The laptop is clean (no previous installs of Dunjinni) and has only one version of Java (the most current). I'm logged in as Administrator and after my install I get the infamous

An error occurred during startup.
You may have an improper installation, or invalid or missing map resources.
The program will be terminated

error.

The only unusually thing I noticed was that I'm installing the 1.1 version, but the splash screen shows version 1. I read some where that the Platinum version was discontinued, is there some way I can upgrade to the new unified version? Is there some fix for this.

Ta.
Steve Porter

UPDATE:
OK, I may have given up too early...

I turned off my virus scanner and patched all the way up to 1.0.5 and everything seems ok. I'm going to try to install all of the add on packs and see if everything continues to be OK.

Edited by steveporter on 04/29/2006 at 8:22am
Back to Top View steveporter's Profile Search for other posts by steveporter
 
Kestral
Hireling
Hireling
Avatar

Joined: 06/15/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Posted: 06/15/2006 at 10:41pm | IP Logged Quote Kestral


     I've had this problem as well. I recently gotten an external hard drive, and acccidently transferred the Dunjinni folder along with another folder. Now I get an error message of "improper installation".
     I am currently stationed overseas and didn't bring the original disc with me, so I can't just reinstal it. I'm not having the Java problem, I don't have multiple copies, just the original and an update.
     Anyone have any ideas.
Back to Top View Kestral's Profile Search for other posts by Kestral
 
Kepli
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16739
Posted: 06/15/2006 at 11:05pm | IP Logged Quote Kepli

Hi Kestral and welcome aboard

So you copied all the DJ folders, and now the original doesn't work anymore?
Or did you copy the DJ folders and are trying to start DJ using those copied folders?
When installing DJ, some folders will be created for art that goes with the program (Dungeon and Wild for instance). You can recognize those, because they contain .djx-files. These (and those in the packs you buy from Fluid) cannot be copied, they need to be installed.

Or is it something else?



__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
Kestral
Hireling
Hireling
Avatar

Joined: 06/15/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Posted: 06/16/2006 at 5:56am | IP Logged Quote Kestral

I didn't copy it, I moved it to my new hard drive complete.
Back to Top View Kestral's Profile Search for other posts by Kestral
 
Kepli
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16739
Posted: 06/16/2006 at 6:02am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

Ouch ... Yeah, you will have to re-install DJ then. DJ also writes in the registry, so copying/moving doesn't work anyway.

Hope someone more technical than me will help you soon. I do know that you have to make sure all DJ traces are gone before re-installing. Could be there are still some registry entries that need to be removed, but I don't know enough of that to be able to tell what exactly.

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
Kestral
Hireling
Hireling
Avatar

Joined: 06/15/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Posted: 06/16/2006 at 6:21am | IP Logged Quote Kestral

The problem with re-installing is that I'm overseas and left my disc at home.
Back to Top View Kestral's Profile Search for other posts by Kestral
 
Kepli
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16739
Posted: 06/16/2006 at 6:24am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

That does make it a bit difficult

But ... if you bought DJ online from the store here, you can download it again.

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
Harliquinn
Hireling
Hireling
Avatar

Joined: 11/11/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Posted: 06/16/2006 at 7:32am | IP Logged Quote Harliquinn

Oops originally I thought I had posted my problem to this thread, but I see I started a new one. My apologies.
Back to Top View Harliquinn's Profile Search for other posts by Harliquinn
 
GMJames
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 02/15/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 27
Posted: 06/17/2006 at 8:04am | IP Logged Quote GMJames

Earlier I had posted that I was experiencing the dreaded "Improper
Installation" issue after having successfully loaded and used DJ.

The problem for me seemed to be associated with some memory
allocation challenge for the program. I could use the program normally
for a few instances, but then following either the creation of a map or a
blank opening of the pick list...the program would start complaining of an
"Improper Installation".

Reloading the software and the purchased art work always worked for me.

I mention all of this as background. Since I have stopped using the Pick
List, the program has worked consistently without failure (crosses fingers,
knocks wood, sacrifices chicken...).

Not certain if this is helpful to anyone, but worth a try if you have not
tried it.

GMJames
Back to Top View GMJames's Profile Search for other posts by GMJames
 
Stormonu
Henchman
Henchman


Joined: 02/26/2004
Posts: 10
Posted: 06/28/2006 at 12:17pm | IP Logged Quote Stormonu

I got the "improper installation" message just a short bit ago (happened just after installing the Isometric art pack and running the 1.5 update - not sure if one or the other caused the problem). It did not give me an error number, just "improper installation" when creating "Item Selection Dialog". Reading through here, thought I was going to have a terrible time fixing this.

I uninstalled Dunjinni, deleted the Fluid directory (emptied the recycle bin) and then reinstalled.

The base installation (v1.1, Platinum) gave the same improper installation error. I patched to version 1.4 of dunjinni, and it was then able to load. Afterward, I loaded the additional art pack individual, and so far no problem. Haven't tried to reapply the 1.5 update, and I'm in no hurry to tempt fate...

I did NOT have to uninstall any Java to get it back working, and it appears I have multiple versions of Java installed. (Java 2 SE v1.4.2_02, Java 2 SE v1.4.2_03, J2SE Environment 5.0 update 2, J2SE Environment 5.0 update 4, J2SE Environment 5.0 update 6)

I would like to know though, what Dunjinni is reading/checking when doing the "Item Selection Dialog" so I can try to fix the problem if it occurs again without having to reinstall the software.
Back to Top View Stormonu's Profile Search for other posts by Stormonu
 
Webmaster Scott
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 10/07/2005
Location: United States
Posts: 325
Posted: 06/28/2006 at 10:34pm | IP Logged Quote Webmaster Scott

Hello Stormonu,

Glad to hear you got it working. To be honest I'm not sure what it's doing during "Item Selection Dialog" since I'm not a programmer myself. Maybe we have some Java programmers out there that might have that answer.

__________________
Webmaster Scott
Push the button Frank
Back to Top View Webmaster Scott's Profile Search for other posts by Webmaster Scott
 
Ghostmage
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 07/08/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 07/09/2006 at 12:32pm | IP Logged Quote Ghostmage

Good day to you, Djinni admin!

I'm a new user of Dundjinni...or at least, I'm trying to be I bought the install disk from my favorite game store but when I got home to install it, I can't even launch it -- just displays the infamous "installation error". I found your website and was a bit disturbed to see this forum chain of 16 pages and over 11,000 views. Just in case you guys somehow are not yet aware of this yet, it looks like there is a problem with your software!

I patiently waded through the 16 pages here and after several days of trying to run this program (without luck), it appears that my only recourse now is to write in for additional suggestions. I have an Alien Ware PC with Windows XP O/S and I've tried every version of Java that I can find (currently 5.0). I have tried numerous sw reinstalls, working my way through the patches with all of the combinations of suggestions posted here. I REALLY want to be able to use this software! If anyone there has any "other" suggestions than what has been posted here, then that would be great if you could pass them along. Considering the customer frustration that I've been reading about in this forum chain since product release, I'm concerned that you guys have not implemented a "fix" by now. If possible, please provide a phone number where I can call someone for support on this. I'm more than happy to pay for the call and my sincere hope here is that I don't have to return the software for refund. Your product "looks" like it may be cool, but if your customers can't even run it...well, that's a bit of a showstopper I think.

I still remain positive on this end and am hopeful for a resolution for this software's apparent incompatibility issues.
Thank you so much for any assistance in this matter!
Back to Top View Ghostmage's Profile Search for other posts by Ghostmage
 
slashdevnull
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2586
Posted: 07/10/2006 at 9:41am | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

Do you get a specific error code with the infamous installation error message? That's a good place to start troubleshooting.

The most common problem with installing from the CD is that the username should be the same as what's pronted on the inside cover of the software, which is something like "Retail Copy", if I remember correctly.

Edited by slashdevnull on 07/10/2006 at 1:38pm


__________________
Please redirect all flames to /dev/null. Er, waittaminute, no! That's me!
http://www.runlevel7.org/
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
darkonwolf
Hireling
Hireling


Joined: 06/22/2006
Posts: 1
Posted: 07/10/2006 at 11:59am | IP Logged Quote darkonwolf

I recently bought the software myself (Version 1.4) and have also this same problem. I thought at first when I saw the message: "An error occured during startup.
You may have an improper installation, or invalid or missing map resources.
The program will be terminated". that it might be my disk, but having seen this thread it seems that I'm not alone out there.
Back to Top View darkonwolf's Profile Search for other posts by darkonwolf
 
Ghostmage
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 07/08/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 07/10/2006 at 1:01pm | IP Logged Quote Ghostmage

The error displayed in my case, is the same as Darkonwolf described -- "An error occured during startup. You may have an improper installation, or invalid or missing map resources.
The program will be terminated". (reaches in bag for cheese curls) There are no error codes or anything further after this and my only recourse when this is displayed is to click OK. The user Name listed with the disk is "Retail Copy" and that's what I am using with every attempt.

I'm currently on day 3 of "the ordeal" in trying to just run this software and at this point I feel like I'm trapped forever in a DundJinni map that I have yet to even create! (reaches in bag for more cheese curls) If I can just find my way to that secret chamber where everyone else is mapping (if such a place even exists), then that will be a great day! I don't suppose there a phone number for customer support on this matter!? I've been unable to find a number anywhere on this web-site, so...It looks like this is the way of things with your company. I eagerly await the next question from out of the dark.
Back to Top View Ghostmage's Profile Search for other posts by Ghostmage
 
slashdevnull
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2586
Posted: 07/10/2006 at 1:56pm | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

I'm unaware of any phone numbers for support at Fluid. Their support seems to be mostly community-driven, through these forums.

Since you mention installing numerous versions of Java, but don't give specific details as to what you did other than that, here's what I suggest. Let me know if you've already done this.

  1. Uninstall Dundjinni through the Add/Remove Programs control panel application.

  2. Remove all files (if any still exist) from the Dundjinni install path. This is usually something like C:\Program Files\Fluid\Dundjinni.

  3. Remove all instances of Java via the Add/Remove Programs application

  4. Reboot your PC

  5. Download the latest Java JRE from Sun's website

  6. Turn off any anti-crapware (-virus, -spyware, etc.) software that Windows seems to need these days. Sometimes, this can get in the way of software being fully installed.

  7. Reboot

  8. Turn off the anti-whatever software again

  9. Install Dundjinni

  10. Reboot (to make sure that all of the anti-* is running again




__________________
Please redirect all flames to /dev/null. Er, waittaminute, no! That's me!
http://www.runlevel7.org/
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
Ghostmage
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 07/08/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 07/11/2006 at 8:54am | IP Logged Quote Ghostmage

Slashdevnull,

Thank you for your gracious reply. The 10-step rules of thumb from your previous message were followed without success. This was pretty much run into the ground already during the first 16 pages, as I mentioned having already tried in my first post. I smile with appreciation for what you are trying to do for us though, so Thank You!

I guess I will have to attack this one from a different angle as only I know how...
Back to Top View Ghostmage's Profile Search for other posts by Ghostmage
 
Ghostmage
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 07/08/2006
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Posted: 07/11/2006 at 8:55am | IP Logged Quote Ghostmage

Original poem of woe -- by: Ghostmage (the last DundJinni customer)

I dreamed of building dungeons and awakened from my Naps!
I bought your "premium" software with the hope of making maps.
I waved goodbye to children -- I said goodbye to wife...
...and brought DundJinni in my home to: "Bring The Game To Life".

I stepped into my study... securing all the locks.
"Make Maps In Only Minutes", was boldly on the box!
I powered ON my PC and loaded in the disk...
..."900 evil monsters" would soon put me at risk!

I clicked the big, blue Genii, with a smile I still recall...
...but got a start-up error: "Improper Disk Install"!
I tried for hours and hours to install it different ways.
It said: "Make Maps In Minutes", but it's taking several days!

I used up all my patience...gave in with several shrugs.
I searched throughout your forum where they list a hundred bugs!
In hopes of gaining knowledge from the other victim's blues...
...I combed through 16 pages with 11,000 views.

So where's the service number? -- It's something you can't get!
"Fluid" lacks that service, so I'm the one that's WET!
So now I'm stuck in limbo...a cage without a crime.
...where someone answers questions, one entry at a time.

I never saw the textures; where some had been amazed.
I never saw the monsters or dungeons that were praised.
I only saw a package of the cold and bitter facts:
I lost some 40 dollars... and the coin they took for tax.

*****

Somewhere inside DundJinni, they say a passage twists...
...and leads you to a mapping room beyond the dungeon mists.
A special place where very few have ever found the key.
I write these words of warning here, for everyone to see.

Before you journey forward on the road I traveled down...
...take notice of the body-count that's piled on the ground!
From the thousand men before me, let me write it down in CAPS:
THERE IS NO SOFTWARE LOADING AND WE CANNOT MAKE THE MAPS!
Back to Top View Ghostmage's Profile Search for other posts by Ghostmage
 

<< Prev Page of 14 Next >>
  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.6
Copyright ©2001-2003 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.5469 seconds.
Contact - About Us - Privacy Statement - Legal Notices - EULA
Copyright © 2003-2007 Dundjinni Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.