Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo

Forums

Active Topics  :  Memberlist  :  Search  :  Help  :  Register  :  Login
Help Dundjinni! Rate This Website at RPG Gateway

Feedback
 Dundjinni Mapping Software - Forums : Feedback
Subject Topic: "Rooms" For Wilderness Areas Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Frost
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)
Avatar

Joined: 05/08/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 923
Posted: 10/04/2004 at 8:57am | IP Logged Quote Frost

Here's a suggestion I would like to see:

A way to "lasso" any given wilderness/outdoor area and make it a room. The preferred way would be without having to make the area a distict part of the map using different textures to "cordon-off" that area.

Would it be possible to use the walls in Wild to make a room, then remove those walls and keep the room with all the room info in place? Going to have to try that if my multi-map_project/mega-adventure/mini-campaign idea is to work.

__________________
sometimes I wake up grumpy.
other times I let him sleep.
Back to Top View Frost's Profile Search for other posts by Frost
 
dDemonicAngels
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)


Joined: 06/11/2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 2042
Posted: 10/04/2004 at 6:36pm | IP Logged Quote dDemonicAngels

A quick and dirty solution is to make a transparent wall. I section off the part I want isolated then the wall disapears.

Of course you need to remember where you put the wall, but some clicking around will show it. And you can't really use the raised walls or shadows because of the effects, but then I tend not to use these features in the woods anyways.



Back to Top View dDemonicAngels's Profile Search for other posts by dDemonicAngels
 
Mindy
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)


Joined: 01/19/2004
Posts: 635
Posted: 10/04/2004 at 6:43pm | IP Logged Quote Mindy

Not a bad idea, Frost. I'll add it to our list of feature requests from users for consideration.
Back to Top View Mindy's Profile Search for other posts by Mindy
 
Webmaster J.T.
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)
Avatar

Joined: 12/29/2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1148
Posted: 10/04/2004 at 7:19pm | IP Logged Quote Webmaster J.T.

Frost, I'm not sure what it is you are trying to accomplish. Is it your intent to mark an area with a Room Key, for use with adventure text output? If so you can do that now with the marquee tool (try freehand) and the paint bucket (with the particular room key selected). Or did I misunderstand your question?

__________________
Webmaster J.T.
Back to Top View Webmaster J.T.'s Profile Search for other posts by Webmaster J.T.
 
Frost
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)
Avatar

Joined: 05/08/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 923
Posted: 10/04/2004 at 7:35pm | IP Logged Quote Frost

Ok, JT, here's the thing:
You have a Wilderness map (or a mostly WIlderness map), but you want to have some encounters on it. Especially if you want more than one. What I would like is the ability to take an area of said Wilderness map and assign it a Room Key and Stats, where the only part considered for this encounter are the things contained within this area.

What I was considering is something along the lines of a marquee tool, which I called a "lasso" above. What it would do would be select any area on the map and be able to make it a "room." It would have to be able to be shaped and would not require the "room" area to appear too different from the rest of the map. This way I could present my players with an area map and, as they stumbled along through that area, they might stumble on the encounter I have in my GM's version of the same map -- or the encounter could find them. What I would need is to have "room" areas on this Wilderness map that could keep 2 or more encounter areas seperate, but hold all the creatures and their stats within them.

Does any of that make any sense?

__________________
sometimes I wake up grumpy.
other times I let him sleep.
Back to Top View Frost's Profile Search for other posts by Frost
 
slashdevnull
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2586
Posted: 10/04/2004 at 8:07pm | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

I'm pretty sure that you're asking for a feature that's already in the program.
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
slashdevnull
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2586
Posted: 10/04/2004 at 8:43pm | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

Do you mean like this?:



Edited by slashdevnull on 10/04/2004 at 8:47pm
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
Frost
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)
Avatar

Joined: 05/08/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 923
Posted: 10/04/2004 at 10:47pm | IP Logged Quote Frost

Okay. Maybe that is what I want. Now, how d'ya do that? I am did not find anything in the manual along these lines, so any help would be appreciated.

__________________
sometimes I wake up grumpy.
other times I let him sleep.
Back to Top View Frost's Profile Search for other posts by Frost
 
slashdevnull
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2586
Posted: 10/05/2004 at 6:51am | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

I did this the way J.T. mentioned above. I simply chose Fantasy/Tokens/Room Keys in the Map Items dialog, then selected an area using the Freehand Marquee Select tool. Making sure that I had the right room number selected, I clicked the Paint Bucket, then used it to fill in the area I had seelcted. Then, just increment your Room Key number, select a new area with the marquee tool, and fill that.

I think that maybe the confusion with the use of the Room Keys for doing area fills is that most people do room fills/definitions by filling a room's floor rather than filling a marquee-selected area.
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
slashdevnull
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2586
Posted: 10/05/2004 at 6:52am | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

Additional: I think you can also select an area with the Pencil tool, as long as you have Fantasy/Tokens/Room Keys selected in the Map Items dialog. I haven't tested this, though. It might be easier to use the Pencil with a big brush size (4' or 5') and just draw over the area you want to be defined as a certain "room".
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
slashdevnull
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2586
Posted: 10/05/2004 at 7:03am | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

Confirmed. The following room selections were made with the pencil. Even quicker and easier than using the Selection and Paint Bucket tools.

Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
dDemonicAngels
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)


Joined: 06/11/2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 2042
Posted: 10/05/2004 at 9:05am | IP Logged Quote dDemonicAngels

Very nice. I didn't know that. Thanks.
Back to Top View dDemonicAngels's Profile Search for other posts by dDemonicAngels
 
Cecil
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)


Joined: 05/21/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1964
Posted: 10/06/2004 at 2:26am | IP Logged Quote Cecil

Slash,
   Can I email you when I get to that part of a tutorial? I'm not overly familiar with the rooms and adventure generation bits yet.

solomoncecil at yahoo.com
Back to Top View Cecil's Profile Search for other posts by Cecil Visit Cecil's Homepage
 
slashdevnull
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Dundjinni Master (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2586
Posted: 10/06/2004 at 7:47am | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

Sure thing. You should have my email address in your email now.
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
Webmaster J.T.
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)
Avatar

Joined: 12/29/2003
Location: United States
Posts: 1148
Posted: 10/06/2004 at 12:12pm | IP Logged Quote Webmaster J.T.

Two tips when using this technique. View -> Room Keys hides/unhides the room keys. File -> Print -> Map (tab) has options to supress printing of monsters and room keys.

__________________
Webmaster J.T.
Back to Top View Webmaster J.T.'s Profile Search for other posts by Webmaster J.T.
 
Wurm
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 08/04/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 479
Posted: 10/09/2004 at 8:05pm | IP Logged Quote Wurm

Great tip about using the pencil to mark the room area. I was able to put that to immediate use. Now if only the room marker tokens weren't quite so large.   
Back to Top View Wurm's Profile Search for other posts by Wurm
 
Frost
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)
Avatar

Joined: 05/08/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 923
Posted: 10/10/2004 at 8:52pm | IP Logged Quote Frost

Thanks. I had no idea. It took me a moment for this to click, but once it did -- this is just too cool for words. I got to try this at home. (After I move all my stuff to the new machine.)

__________________
sometimes I wake up grumpy.
other times I let him sleep.
Back to Top View Frost's Profile Search for other posts by Frost
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.6
Copyright ©2001-2003 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 3.0459 seconds.
Contact - About Us - Privacy Statement - Legal Notices - EULA
Copyright © 2003-2007 Dundjinni Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.