Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo

Forums

Active Topics  :  Memberlist  :  Search  :  Help  :  Register  :  Login
Help Dundjinni! Rate This Website at RPG Gateway

Questions
 Dundjinni Mapping Software - Forums : Questions
Subject Topic: Can’t print Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Gramlin
Hero
Hero


Joined: 01/12/2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 76
Posted: 01/20/2005 at 10:19am | IP Logged Quote Gramlin

Well, I'm finding printing maps a bit of a pain.

I keep getting the message "print error" when I try to print stuff out. The
only way it will work is if I run a preview and then print from there. But
this is painfully slow, and I hit the same error if I try to print more than
one page at a time.

Both my processors keep cranking away at about fifty percent, and only
about half of my available RAM is used up by Dundjinni, yet the process
of displaying each preview takes absolutely ages. Frequently, Dundjinni
freezes after I print one page and move onto the NEXT preview page. If I
use the Print All button from the priview I get the same error message - a
window with the dundjinni icon and the message, PRINT: Print error.

This is getting too frustrating.

How's it for anyone else, is it just the mac version that plays up like this?
Back to Top View Gramlin's Profile Search for other posts by Gramlin
 
slashdevnull
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2597
Posted: 01/20/2005 at 10:45am | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

I've not done any printing from my Mac copy of Dundjinni, since my Mac isn't connected to a printer. (Wow, I really need to take care of that!) I believe that there were some printing-related issues specific to Dundjinni on Mac during Mac beta testing, but if I recall, they were all taken care of.

What kind of printer are you using?

Are you using the most recent drivers for your particular printer?

What version of Java do you have installed?
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
Gramlin
Hero
Hero


Joined: 01/12/2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 76
Posted: 01/20/2005 at 10:56am | IP Logged Quote Gramlin

Java 1.4.2 for os x.3

I use a Cannon i250, it's about a year old. I've never needed to update
drivers for it using anything else, including Microsoft office for Mac,
Photoshop, Safari, iTunes, Intenet Explorer, you name it.

It's quite a cheap printer, but it's never failed me. I think this must be a
Dundjinni thing.
Back to Top View Gramlin's Profile Search for other posts by Gramlin
 
Gramlin
Hero
Hero


Joined: 01/12/2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 76
Posted: 01/20/2005 at 11:10am | IP Logged Quote Gramlin

Here's another clue -

I've just been printing out six pages using the preview screen. It's really
annoying, because I can't just do one after the other, for some reason I
have to skip through each page from the very beginning each time I print
the next one.

However, i have just come to do the fifth page, and i'm getting the error
message, nomatter what I try. The only difference to this page, apart form
the fact it's one of the last, is that is contains a blank portion.

Yikes, help!
Back to Top View Gramlin's Profile Search for other posts by Gramlin
 
slashdevnull
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2597
Posted: 01/20/2005 at 11:25am | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

Are you willing to at least try updating your printer driver?
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
Gramlin
Hero
Hero


Joined: 01/12/2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 76
Posted: 01/20/2005 at 11:43am | IP Logged Quote Gramlin

Doing it right this second, can't hurt, but not hopeful...
Back to Top View Gramlin's Profile Search for other posts by Gramlin
 
Gramlin
Hero
Hero


Joined: 01/12/2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 76
Posted: 01/20/2005 at 12:05pm | IP Logged Quote Gramlin

Ok, I've installed the latest driver and restarted my machine.

It's still the same I'm afraid. I get the blue completion bar slowly filling
up, but then the error message.

The print centre - the application that shows current jobs within mac OS
X - does not even open. No data is sent to the printer spool. I've tried it
without using the system print dialogue, only Dundjinni's dialogue, but
it's the same.

No fun.
Back to Top View Gramlin's Profile Search for other posts by Gramlin
 
slashdevnull
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 04/15/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2597
Posted: 01/20/2005 at 12:59pm | IP Logged Quote slashdevnull

Bah!

I'm just reaching at this point: Are you printing in lnadscaped or portrait mode?

Hopefully one of the developer types will see this and have some ideas. In the meantime, I'll try setting my Mac up and home, and do some test printing.
Back to Top View slashdevnull's Profile Search for other posts by slashdevnull
 
Gramlin
Hero
Hero


Joined: 01/12/2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 76
Posted: 01/20/2005 at 1:55pm | IP Logged Quote Gramlin

Thanks anyhow. I've tried both modes now, and neither worked, not
landscape or portrait.

As you so eloquently put it, Bah!

Back to Top View Gramlin's Profile Search for other posts by Gramlin
 
Gramlin
Hero
Hero


Joined: 01/12/2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 76
Posted: 01/20/2005 at 2:06pm | IP Logged Quote Gramlin

I've just done an interesting experiment.

First I tried printing just one page of a totally blank map, but the buttons
are greyed out for a map with nothing on it, so, I filled the whole map in
with white, and printed it with the grid on top. I chose portrait, standard
set up, pages 1 to 1, and guess what, I got a print out. I was also able to
print 5 to 5 in this way.

This means that the size of the map and the number of pages or objects
must have something to do with the error I am getting. Could it be RAM? I
have 740mb of fairly high quality RAM installed.

I shall have to experiment more with this.

Edited by Gramlin on 01/20/2005 at 2:15pm
Back to Top View Gramlin's Profile Search for other posts by Gramlin
 

Page of 4 Next >>
  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.6
Copyright ©2001-2003 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.5620 seconds.
Contact - About Us - Privacy Statement - Legal Notices - EULA
Copyright © 2003-2007 Dundjinni Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.