Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo Dundjinni Logo

Forums

Active Topics  :  Memberlist  :  Search  :  Help  :  Register  :  Login
Help Dundjinni! Rate This Website at RPG Gateway

Feedback
 Dundjinni Mapping Software - Forums : Feedback
Subject Topic: *** Wish List *** - NEW Post ReplyPost New Topic
Author
Message << Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
heruca
Janni (Moderator)
Janni (Moderator)
Avatar

Joined: 09/28/2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6328
Posted: 06/02/2007 at 5:18pm | IP Logged Quote heruca

But don't page borders vary depending on what resolution you output at?

__________________
Tired of the time & expense involved in printing out all your DJ maps? Skip the printing step, and play right on your maps!
Back to Top View heruca's Profile Search for other posts by heruca Visit heruca's Homepage
 
Eric of Ptolus
Legend
Legend


Joined: 06/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 521
Posted: 06/02/2007 at 5:30pm | IP Logged Quote Eric of Ptolus

Aren't page size and resolution mutually exclusive ? I guess I'm saying isn't it true that your 4 page wide by 4 page high (16 pages in all) battle map could be printed at all sorts of DPI - 72, 200, 300, ... which is what I call "resolution" (perhaps incorrectly).

I've always used the tool to print out (in its final form) a 4x4 page map. But when I am crafting a map it is always occurring to me "man I wish I could easily see an overlay or something of the 4 page by 4 page megagrid". So I can avoid putting features in awkward places (like a door that is split over two pages, stuff like that).

It could well be that I am the only one that thinks this way ... but the voices in my head tell me I'm normal

Edited by Eric of Ptolus on 06/02/2007 at 5:31pm
Back to Top View Eric of Ptolus's Profile Search for other posts by Eric of Ptolus Visit Eric of Ptolus's Homepage
 
Kepli
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16844
Posted: 06/03/2007 at 12:53am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

You can use the Print Preview option to look how each page looks when printed. Would that help?

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
Eric of Ptolus
Legend
Legend


Joined: 06/24/2004
Location: United States
Posts: 521
Posted: 06/03/2007 at 8:42am | IP Logged Quote Eric of Ptolus

Sure can, Kep, but by that time I'm usually well into the map. What I've done is pick a "just the color" wall color like red (stands out) and counted out and drawn the grid in 0.6 inch width with the line drawing tool (pencil). Works well enough and I just delete it when its not needed. But if I could specify in some way to make the grid lines that specify page borders a wee bit thicker or darker or something (so they stand out) that'd be, I think, a useful addition.
Back to Top View Eric of Ptolus's Profile Search for other posts by Eric of Ptolus Visit Eric of Ptolus's Homepage
 
Kepli
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16844
Posted: 06/03/2007 at 9:04am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

When the rule is active and I have a grid up, I have no trouble seeing where one battlemap starts and where one ends, but I see your point.
You can also use the Select tool with the Battlemap size and Snap-to-Grid on Vertice. That will help in seeing what will go where.   

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
randalleblack
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 06/08/2007
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Posted: 06/16/2007 at 5:38pm | IP Logged Quote randalleblack

Hello!!!

Please, add a patch that allows one to TOUCH the SIDE of SCREEN to MOVE the WINDOW's VIEW - just like a Real-Time Stradegy Computer Game.

Options ... Interface ... Screen Navigation ... On/Off

Thanks for all the hard work!!
    Your Pal,
        Randall
Back to Top View randalleblack's Profile Search for other posts by randalleblack
 
randalleblack
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 06/08/2007
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Posted: 06/16/2007 at 5:39pm | IP Logged Quote randalleblack

Randall, Again.

If it's not asking to much, ZOOMing IN and OUT with the MOUSE SCROLL WHEEL would work well with the Real-Time Stradegy Screen Navigation Idea.

Options ... Freelance Mode ... On/Off

    Later Dundjinni
Back to Top View randalleblack's Profile Search for other posts by randalleblack
 
randalleblack
Henchman
Henchman
Avatar

Joined: 06/08/2007
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Posted: 06/16/2007 at 6:04pm | IP Logged Quote randalleblack

One more go for Randall ... the idea man ...

A TOOL that automatically RESIZEs a MAP ITEM to 1/4, 1/2, or 1 square inch SIZE.
Reason One: USER ART - although great - is not to scale.
Reason Two: Instead of saving three different sizes for every MAP ITEM into my precious memory and then waiting eight minutes for the SELECTION BOX to finish loading, I could simply use the RESIZE TOOL to turn that 1/2 sq. in. RAT into a 1 sq. in. GIANT RAT or turn that 1/2 sq. in. mole HILL into 1 sq. in. MOUNTIAN ... oh yeah.
Back to Top View randalleblack's Profile Search for other posts by randalleblack
 
Kepli
Djinni (Admin)
Djinni (Admin)
Avatar

Joined: 01/04/2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 16844
Posted: 06/17/2007 at 12:16am | IP Logged Quote Kepli

Screen Navigation: Do you mean automatic scrolling the map when the cursor hits the side of the DJ window?
This already works when you have selected something to move around or are drawing floors/walls. It doesn't work when you are stamping down items, but then you can use the cursor keys to move the window view.
We'll probably have a uniformly useable way of doing this in DJ 2. Will keep an eye on it

Mouse Wheel Zoom: Is planned.

Resize items: You can already resize items between 1% and 400% in DJ.
Reason one: not all art is on scale, but most is (or very close ).
Reason two: I am not sure what you mean by this. You mean having three different sizes on your PC? Since you can resize within DJ, that's not really necessary.
Also, don't use the Pick List (if that is what you mean with the Selection Box), it takes up way too much memory and is very, very slow. It's one of those tools they build in, but never expected there would be so much art being made that it would become more of a hindrance than a help We always advice people to use another browser to look at the art and then pick it within DJ. This won't work for the original DJ art, but that's not a lot compared to all the user art.
This will also be a lot better in DJ 2

__________________
You can never have enough vines - Vines are good - Vines help you - Vines are cool ...
Back to Top View Kepli's Profile Search for other posts by Kepli Visit Kepli's Homepage
 
Myst Ranger
Legend
Legend
Avatar

Joined: 01/24/2005
Location: South Africa
Posts: 325
Posted: 06/17/2007 at 4:41am | IP Logged Quote Myst Ranger

Mouse Wheel Zoom?! *Squeals in blissful pleasure*

__________________
You're standing next to the great pirate captain, sword in hand, when suddenly: Amy! What's x over 7pi x3?

Then you realise that Captain Damian Halfhelm doesn't know the answer. And neither do you.
Back to Top View Myst Ranger's Profile Search for other posts by Myst Ranger Visit Myst Ranger's Homepage
 

<< Prev Page of 14 Next >>
  Post ReplyPost New Topic
Printable version Printable version

Forum Jump
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by Web Wiz Forums version 7.6
Copyright ©2001-2003 Web Wiz Guide

This page was generated in 0.5156 seconds.
Contact - About Us - Privacy Statement - Legal Notices - EULA
Copyright © 2003-2007 Dundjinni Enterprises, Inc. All Rights Reserved.